My Top 3 Hacks that Reversed my Type 2 Diabetes

Life Jacket Pre-Hacked
This was before I lost 25 pounds and reversed my type 2 diabetes
Note: I am not a physician or an expert.  This is my story of what I did to reverse my type 2 diabetes.  Always consult your doctor before following anything I mention on this website.

Reversing Type 2 Diabetes might sound like it’s impossible.  I also believed it was impossible when I was diagnosed and my endocrinologist told me I will have it for life and I cannot reverse it.  I wish I knew what I know now.

What I learned since being diagnosed with diabetes when I was 40 was that research is key.  Explore, google, read, be curious, question everything and eventually you will find the answers and people who are challenging exactly what you are looking for.

While I was on my path to reversing my diabetes, there were 3 simple hacks I followed to become successful in lowering my blood sugar.

1. Only Track Carbs

Yes, I said it.  Only track your carbs.  When starting out, make sure your carbs are under 20 grams per day.  Eat protein and fat until you are full.  Don’t sweat all the macro tracking of everything else.  If your number one goal is to reverse your diabetes, focus on under 20 grams of carbs per day.  You can worry about everything else later once you get your blood sugar fixed.

At this point don’t worry about the scale, don’t worry how much you weigh, how many inches you lost or if you are in ketosis.  Stop peeing on those sticks and start getting used to not eating pasta, bread, rice, grains, fruits and some veggies.  For most people, this will be a shocker.  “What do you mean I can’t eat fruit?”.  Yes, that’s right, don’t eat the fucking fruit!  “But fruit is healthy.”.  Yes and it’s also full of sugar!  At this point in the game you need to wrap your head around not eating carbs, which means any food that will spike your blood sugars.  It’s actually really simple but you are going to have to step out of your comfort zone and realize – NO MORE FRUIT!!! bread, rice, grains and some veggies.  Follow those rules and watch your next HbA1c drop like a rock.

2. Learn to Fast

Fasting – as in not eating.  WTF?  How am I not going to eat?  My blood sugar will drop and then I will get hangry and bite my partners head off if I don’t get food into me.  Ya, ya, ya…… that’s what I used to think.  Boo hoo, get over it!  Don’t fast until at least 4 weeks into a keto/low carb way of eating.  Let your body get used to a low carb diet.  Once you are fully “fat adapted” meaning your body is now burning fat for fuel (instead of carbs), it will be easier to fast.

How I started was to skip one meal each day for a week, then I would skip two meals each day, leaving me at just one meal a day for a week.  Then in my 3rd week, I would do only 1 day of fasting per week, each week for a month.  In the next month I would try and do 2 days of fasting per week each week.  By the 3rd month I was up to 3 days of fasting per week.  I eased my way into longer fasts and now I fast whenever I feel like it.  Sometimes I intermittent fast and sometimes I do extended fasts up to 3 days.

3. Electrolytes, Electrolytes, Electrolytes

Drink plenty of water, all the time, all day every day.  However, you want to add your electrolytes to your daily routine.  How I did this was I added a magnesium supplement, I use those water enhancers with electrolytes in them such as the brand Mio, and whenever I felt hungry I would place a pinch of pink Himalayan salts under my tongue.  I still do this every day.

I hear of many people getting the “keto flu” when they start a low carb diet.  I never had this experience, I only get a throbbing headache on day 3 of low carb and it’s usually gone by day 4.  However, so many people seem to get flu like symptoms when starting out, so please keep your electrolytes up and consult with your doctor before following any of these hacks.

Feel free to share some of your hacks that helped you reverse your diabetes.

If you have any questions or need any support, feel free to connect with me.

Follow me on Instagram @ihackeddiabetes

2 comments

Leave a comment