Zero Carb 5 Day Bacon Fast – Results

BJVQE8178
This was my first Carbish meal after my fast – Double Bacon Cheeseburger on a Keto Bun from The Burgers Priest

I did it!  Yay, I did a full 5 day – Zero Carb challenge and I made it even more special by focusing mostly on a bacon fast while eating One Meal A Day (OMAD).

The idea came about when my friend Teresa (@ketophoria) started a Zero Carb challenge on instagram.  Of course I jumped at the chance to be part of this challenge because I’ve done many 3 day fasts (only coffee and water) so I knew a 5 day challenge (only bacon) will be easy peasy.

IMG_3985

Keep in mind I was only eating once a day but I tried to eat until I was satiated.  Which for me meant until I was super full and almost to the point of being nauseous.  All my meals consisted of 4-6 slices of thick cut bacon.  Two of the 5 days I also ate a cup of ground beef and on one of the days I ate pork belly, some shredded spicy beef and sautéed green beans.   I also went to the gym 3 out of the 5 days, mostly leg work and cardio.

Total weight loss over the 5 days was 4 pounds.

Other benefits of doing this fast?

I felt really good eating once a day.  I didn’t snack at all.  Knowing that I could only eat once a day, I really had no desire to snack outside of my 1 hour eating window.

  • My clothes are looser.  I have a couple pair of pants where I normally do not need to wear a belt but by the end of the 5 days I had to put one on because the waist on the pants was loose and I kept having to pull them up.
  • My gym clothes are also not as snug.  On January 1st I purposely started wearing a very snug gym shirt so that I could notice the difference as I lost weight.  I was very uncomfortable as it was a little too snug and would always wear a zip up hoodie over it because I was embarrassed.   Needless to say that today I wore it without the zip up because the shirt was much looser and I now feel comfortable in it.  I also used to just pull up my gym pants and keep the stretchy drawstring always tied the same.  Today I had to tighten the drawstring, otherwise someone would have caught a glimpse of my ass on the treadmill.

Overall the zero carb challenge was a great success.  Was there any negative side affects?

Only one.  By day three my stools were fairly loose but that only lasted for two days and then I was fine by day 5.

Will I continue to eat Zero Carb?  Probably not.  I do miss eating some vegetables, I also miss eating crunchy foods like nuts, parm crisps or crunchy keto granola.

I have however decided to continue to eat Keto –  One Meal a Day  – 5 days a week.

  • I never felt hungry
  • It stopped me from wanting to grab a snack when I was bored
  • It also helped keep my blood sugars at a normal level.

Thanks again to my girl Teresa for putting together this zero carb challenge.  If you want to know more and see what others did during the challenge,  head over to instagram and search for #ketophoriazcc or #ketophoriaefc.

Do you fast? Have you ever done a zero carb challenge?  I would love to hear your diet hacks and what works for you.

Follow me on instagram @ihackeddiabetes

3 comments

  1. Hi there…a caution on OMAD. I have gone through the IDM clinic where they advice against eating OMAD. They are concerned about the possibility of non randomized daily eating to be considered as calorie restriction by the body, thus triggering lower BMR rates. Their suggestion is to do no more than 3 consecutive 24 hr fasts. Hope this helps.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment